Australia has joined SCOAP3, through a partnership of six Universities: Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Western Australia, New South Wales and the Australian National University

The University of Melbourne declared: “Australian universities have a long historyof collaboration to provide the advanced scholarly informationinfrastructure required to support research and innovation. Now, morethan perhaps ever before, collaboration across national boundaries willbe essential to advance knowledge creation and dissemination. SCOAP3provides an excellent opportunity to test how this may be done.”

With the accession of Australia, SCOAP3 has received pledges for exactly a third of its budget, and expanded its consensus basis beyond Europe, where is supported by 12 countries and an international organisation, and the United States.