SCOAP3 Partners

SCOAP3 Governing Council

SCOAP3 Governing Council Meeting June 2015

SCOAP3 is organized as a partnership with CERN playing the role of the Host Organisation, as it does for the large international collaborations performing experiments at the LHC collider. Currently SCOAP3 comprises over 3,000 libraries and library consortia, universities, research institutions and funding agencies from 44 countries. In addition 3 intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) are partners of SCOAP3: the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN), the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR).

Each country arranges its SCOAP3 participation SCOAP3 via one or more organisations called the “Representatives”. These organisations sign a “Memorandum of Understanding”, which is the basis of the SCOAP3 partnership. Representatives often support participating libraries in the country, e.g. collecting the national contributions to SCOAP3 fund, and are the first point of contact for all partner institutions or other interested parties within the country. The Representatives arrange with all institutions in the country the representation in the SCOAP3 Governing Council. Reflecting the diversity within the SCOAP3 partnership, some countries have more than one Representative, while in other cases several institutions have joined directly, and individually, the SCOAP3 partnership, arranging then nationally their representation.


Move the mouse over a country to learn more about its participation in SCOAP3. Click on the country to see the National Contact Points below the map.

SCOAP3 Partners
CountryRepresented by
AustraliaAustralian National University, Griffith University, the Macquarie University, the Queensland University of Technology, the University of Melbourne, the University of New South Wales and the University of Western Australia
AustriaÖsterreichische Bibliothekenverbund und Service Gmbh (OBVSG)
BelgiumBelgian Delegation to the CERN Council
CanadaCanadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN)
China (PRC) National Science and Technology Library (NSTL)
CERN European Organization for Nuclear Research
Czech Republic National Library of Technology (NTK)
Denmark Kulturstyrelsen (Danish Agency for Culture)
FinlandNational Library of Finland/FinELib
FranceCentre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
GermanyHelmholtz Gemeinschaft, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft and Technische Informationsbibliothek representing the German universities
GreeceHellenic Academic Libraries – Link (HEAL – Link)
Hong-KongJoint University Librarians Advisory Committee (JULAC)
HungaryLibrary and Information Centre of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency Library
Iceland National and University Library of Iceland and Iceland Consortium for Electronic Subscriptions
Italy Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN)
JapanNational Institute of Informatics (NII)
JINRThe Joint Institute for Nuclear Research represents some of its member states: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cuba, DPRK, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.
Korea, Republic of Korea Institute of Science and Technology Information
NetherlandsSURFmarket on behalf of Universiteitsbibliotheken en de Koninklijke Bibliotheek (UKB) and Nationaal Instituut voor Subatomaire Fysica (NIKHEF)
PolandICM University of Warsaw
PortugalFundação para a Ciȇncia e a Tecnologia (FCT)
Slovak Republic Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport
South AfricaSouth African National Library and information Consortium (SANLiC)
SpainConsorcio de Bibliotecas Universitarias de Andalucia (CBUA), Consorcio de Bibliotecas Universitarias de Castilla y Leon (BUCLE), Consorcio de Bibliotecas Universitarias de Galicia (BUGalicia), Consortium UNIRIS, Centro de Investigaciones Energeticas, Medioambientales y Tecnologicas (CIEMAT), Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), Consorci de Serveis Universitaris de Catalunya (CSUC), Grupo 9 de Universidades and Consorcio Madroño
SwedenKungl Biblioteket (National Library of Sweden)
Switzerland University of Geneva
TaiwanPhysics Research Promotion Center
United KingdomJISC Collections. and The Science and Technology Facilities Council
United StatesCalifornia Digital Library (CDL) and Lyrasis